It’s Monday! What are You Reading?: Red Queen

This Monday, my post is going to be a little unique in that I must admit something: this is a book I’ve not yet finished. This is mainly due to the fact I didn’t acquire it until late last week; however, I have to admit something else.

I’ve been waiting for this book for a long, long time, and it seems magical that I’m finally getting the chance to read it. Let me fill you in on the details as to why I’m so psyched to get this book.

Since this book was published (2 years ago this month, to be exact), it’s been on my TBR list. I’d first heard of it from my friend Jenny who had it preordered, and she had nothing but raves to give it. I called dibs after our friend Lyv, but because of the distance between the three of us (why do you have to be so far, New Mexico?!), and forgetfulness on all our parts, Red Queen seemed to elude me. That was until, of course, I spotted it sitting nice and pretty on the shelves of CSC’s YA lit section.

20170206_131749
Isn’t it beautiful!? 

I’m halfway through, but I’ll say this:

This baby was well worth the wait.

It’s been a minute since I’ve gotten into a dystopian novel, given the onslaught of dystopian books, movies, and TV shows that have taken over pages and screens for the past five or so years. However, Red Queen is different. Here’s a brief synopsis thus far:

Red Queen is set in a universe that distinguishes two types of people by the color of their blood: Reds, average humans that live in poverty and work lowly jobs, and Silvers, superbeings that live in luxury and nobility. Mare Barrow, our heroine protagonist, is of the former; her brothers have been drafted to fight in a hundred-year battle the Silvers have been waging with Red blood, her father is a wounded veteran, and she is a pick pocket who will soon be conscripted once she comes of age. Her family’s only saving grace is her sister Gisa, already a talented seamstress’ apprentice at 14 with a great career ahead of her. All this changes once news of the Red Guard, a resistance group, wages war on the capital and Silver royalty.

Though all seems lost for Mare, there’s one tiny thing: she’s an anomaly, a Red with the superpowers of a Silver, something even she did not realize she was. The Silver royalty tries to keep her hidden in the palace for as long as possible, engaging her to a Silver prince, but still Mare fights to help the Red Guard while keeping her position. Mare is in a very dangerous place, and she knows it, but what will she ultimately do?

So far, I’m enraptured in this book. It’s got plot, excellent characters, a new twist on dystopian fiction: it’s a fresh, interesting read, something I feel like I’ve been missing in my life.

I’ll post an update once I’m finished, but until then, I’ll be holed up with a liter of ginger ale and a box of Cheez Its. See you all on the other side.

5 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are You Reading?: Red Queen

  1. It is always so fun to finally get to a book that you’ve been waiting to read! I have one that just popped up on my Kindle that I’ve had on hold for months. So…. Even though I had made plans for what I was going to be reading this week, I will be “tweaking” my reading list to accommodate this one so that I don’t end up back at the end of the hold list!

    Like

  2. This one has been on my TBR for awhile too! I might have to run over to the CSC library when you finish it and snatch it up. Quite a few of my friends have read this book and I know that I will love it too!

    Like

  3. Your review of this book was both extremely excited and hilarious (mostly the end part about the Cheez Its). I agree that dystopian books have been overloaded lately but I am glad that you were able to find one that really captured your imagination! I look forward to reading this, thank you for the great review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

