It’s Monday! What are You Reading?: How To Be Popular

Hello, the interweb!

Tonight really is the perfect night to cap off a perfect weekend. I got to see and talk to so many family and friends these past few days, and it has all been much needed. Honestly, I haven’t felt this energized, refreshed, and plain HAPPY in a good long while. Of course this is positive in every facet of my life, but one area that’s been especially primped because of this was my reading!

Yes, all, as much as I love reading a good book to lift my spirits when I’m low, I also love reading when I’m lifted. Because I was feeling sentimental, I chose a Meg Cabot book for this week. I’m a huge ol’ Cabot fan, and this was one of the few picks I hadn’t read yet in her collection.

How To Be Popular features Steph Landry,  an average high school girl who has been plagued since 6th grade by an unfortunate accident involving a red slushie, a white D&G skirt, and the most popular girl in school. Though she has been a part of the “unpopular crowd” with her best friends Jason and Becca, she’s determined that this is the year she will become popular. While looking through Jason’s grandma’s attic, she stumbles upon an old 1950s etiquette book titled none other than How To Be Popular. By following the rules and climbing the social ladder, Steph is finding more and more about what it truly means to be popular, and that it involves some sacrifices. Is being popular worth it, or are there more important things in life than popularity?

Though this wasn’t my favorite Cabot novel, I still enjoyed it enough to finish it in 2 days. Cabot’s signature humor is evident, and all of her characters are relatable. I had an interesting revelation of sorts while I was reading, however; even though I enjoyed the book, there were parts where I found myself inwardly rolling my eyes or even scolding Steph for how she acted. If I had read this at, say, 15 or 16, I don’t think I would have picked up on moments like that. It didn’t take away from the book, but for the first time in a very long time I felt my age while reading YA lit.

If you’re looking for a typical teen girl feel-good novel, this one’s it. You’ll reminisce like you wouldn’t believe, but if you’re like me you won’t mind a bit. Cabot is forever a staple author in my YA repetoire, and you’ll see why after reading this.

Read along, bookworms!

4 thoughts on “It’s Monday! What are You Reading?: How To Be Popular

  1. I have, sadly, never red a Meg Cabot book. It does sound lovely though, like a brain break from all of the heavy stuff we might be reading. I’ll have do do some research.

    Like

  2. Your post brought back memories! I had forgotten about this book…I loved it so much when I was a teen! While it may not be a gripping novel, I have fond memories of enjoying it. That has to say something about letting a student read what they want, doesn’t it?

    Like

Leave a Reply

