Warm reads

Since I’ve been in college, summer’s beginning comes with excitement and apprehension. I’m eager to get home and get working, but there’s so much to do in the days ahead that I can’t really get to the happy part yet. We’re getting there slowly, though.

This year is different. This is a summer of many big firsts; my brother graduates high school this year and will be joining me here in the fall. I’m starting a job at a place I’ve wanted to work at since I was young, and will get to be in the heart of the Sandhills. I’m taking my boyfriend to his first Royals game and get to make memories and live more life with him. I’ll be 21 in July and will be able to buy my own boxed wine and Big Bucket daquiri mixes.

I’ll also be embarking on my very first summer reading challenge. I don’t exactly count the summer reading program “challenges” we did in elementary school, because 1.) I always started it, but never finished it because the books weren’t to my liking, and 2.) I’m still sour that I didn’t get invited to the exclusive summer reading program party, because of reason 1. However, I fully intend on finishing this challenge because I get to choose what I read.

Because I’ll turn 21 this year, I’ll read 21 books this summer. I might pick up a picture book or two, but my main concern is with YA books of all sorts; short stories, series books, graphic novels, and much more are included. You name it, I’ll get ’em. If I divide it by three months, that’s 7 books a month. Here’s a few that I’ve got picked out so far:

  • Glass Sword and King’s Cage, both part of the Red Queen series)
  • Boxers and Saints: Saints
  • Eleanor and Park
  • Lucy and Linh
  • Brown Girl Dreaming
  • The Giver
  • All the Bright Places
  • Clockwork Angel

These are a few of the books I have so far, but I want to give myself some leeway and let books come to me as the summer unwinds. I need a little spontaneity in my reading life, and isn’t that perfect for summer?

Photo CC: Chandler Unified School District

 

 

4 thoughts on “Warm reads

  1. The ideas in this blog were very similar to mine. I told myself I would read 26 books this summer since I am 26 years old, and I didn’t fill out all twenty six slots because reading desires will change with the mood of the day or week. Have fun at Kaufman Stadium! I’m a huge Royals fan and have been to over twenty games, it’s a great place to spend the afternoon. Congrats on the job and happy reading!

    Like

Leave a Reply

